Monday, October 22, 2012

Guest review of "Book Burner" by Pig Destroyer written by Rob Gabriele, drummer of NitemarE

This guest review is written by a good friend of mine, Rob Gabriele. He is the current drummer for NitemarE and formerly Bride of the Monster. You can like NitemarE page here. Also visit their website and buy merch here.

Buy this album

1. Sis
2. The American's Head
3. The Underground Man
4. Eve
5. The Diplomat
6. All Seeing Eye
7. Valley of the Geysers
8. Book Burner
9. Machiavellian
10. Baltimore Strangler
11. White Lady
12. The Bug
13. Iron Drunk
14. Burning Palm
15. Dirty Knife
16. Totaled
17. Kamikaze Heart
18. King of Clubs
19. Permanent Funeral

The undisputed kings of grind, PIG DESTROYER return with their long awaited fourth proper full length ‘Book Burner’.  ‘Book Burner’ is a resounding statement of championship, as every element of PIG DESTROYER towers above their closest peers—a 32 minute, 19 song knockout punch of cerebral viciousness.  Scott Hull’s guitar heroics sound like a mutant double speed hybrid of Slayer and the Melvins jacked up on amphetamines, new skinsman Adam Jarvis is the pinnacle of inhuman drumming, Blake Harrison delivers layer upon layer of suffocating atmosphere and JR Hayes remains the poet laureate of extreme metal.  ‘Book Burner’ is the finest work of extreme music’s best band.   Limited edition deluxe CDs and LPs available with bonus ‘Blind, Deaf and Bleeding’ EP, expanded packaging and the much talked about short story penned by JR Hayes. 

What can you say about the (what I call) supergroup formed in 1997 featuring members of Agoraphobic nosebleed, Anal Cunt, Misery index, Enemy Soil? It can only be screamed underwater followed by multiple sudden organ failures because Pig Destroyer deserve no less. The name alone demands your attention. The members thought it was a clever twist on the term Cop Killer. Everyone loves it from what I've read. I think it's lame, but what the fuck do I know?

Pig Destroyer's latest effort Book Burner is not unlike their previous albums but is clearly their best work to date. As a fan of theirs since first hearing Prowler In The Yard, I never know what to expect from them as far as the mix sound goes. Songwriting style overall has never really changed since 38 Counts but their style of mixing and noise is always different throughout each album. Speaking of noise it was absent this time. This is a clear recording of some goddamn near perfect grind. When listening to grind you can sometimes find yourself lost in what the fuck is actually happening. Not in this album. Even without a bass guitar the recording/mixing is indicative of hardcore & deathmetal influence. Again, the songwriting is not. This is fucking grindcore. Songs range from half a minute to a whopping 4 minutes which takes us back to the writing style of 38 Counts of the quick no-nonsense tunes. As soon as you start headbanging to a killer riff, it's over. But what is grind if not a tease. And I wouldn't prefer it any other way.

J. R. Hayes' vocals aren't screeching high, nor growling low. It's that hardcore style mid-range which reminds me of the New Wave Of American Heavy Metal style vocals. What makes it grind is the ferocity in his delivery. Hayes once completed a gig without the use of a mic, which stopped working halfway through the set. ( That says a lot. 2 songs on the album were done entirely by guest Kat Katz of Agoraphobic Nosebleed. Hayes' lyrical style this time is somewhat different than previous efforts. Less abstract and more to the point. Hayes is a lyrical genius and it's always a treat to see what grey-matter ramblings ooze from his pen. Baltimore Strangler is a good example of his storytelling poetry.

Blake Harrison joined the band in 2006 on electronics. I don't really notice it throughout the album other than the obvious samples. I suppose he's there though. Maybe when I finally get to fucking see them live I can see what he's actually doing. But nothing on this recording displays him at all, at least not to MY ears.

Scott Hull..... The Jesus Christ of grind. His licks were in the same vein as what he writes for Agoraphobic Nosebleed but way more coherent than any AgN riff. The example would be the tune The Bug, which is by far my favorite on the whole CD. Hayes is featured and Kat returns for some backing assistance. Scott's riff half way through the song could define the fucking whole genre. Not just grind but metal itself. He has some weird secret government job he's not allowed to talk about which makes him thaaaat much closer to being the coolest person on Earth.

Adam Jarvis joined the band last year on drums. I was curious to hear what he ads to PxDx, and yes he delivered. I was expecting more crazy tom fills like what he is known for in Misery Index but I was surprised to see him rather show off his double-bass speed. Don't get me wrong there are plenty of wild fills but Adam seems to rely more on his talents in his legs, polka-beats, lightspeed blast beats and groove breakdowns. The new sound he ads to the band is welcome and a touch more real.

There are no filler tracks. Nothing worth skipping or fast forwarding to the "good part". This is an example of a recording that is professionally done yet compromises nothing for anyone. There are no outside influences with their production. It's all them, in their parents basement (supposedly that's true!) making the music THEY like. An incredible feat and success. Sure everyone's producing/engineering themselves these days... but not this well.

This album will be in my playlist for many years to come. If not forever.

No comments:

Post a Comment