Tuesday, June 4, 2013

Review of "Old Mornings Dawn" by Summoning

Buy this album
(link availabe on the 7th)

1. Evernight
2. Flammifer
3. Old Mornings Dawn
4. The White Tower
5. Caradhras
6. Of Pale White Morn
7. The Wandering Fire
8. Earthshine

Seven long and agonizing years have finally come to an end, as "Old Mornings Dawn" – the highly anticipated new album by the cult band SUMMONING – is about to be released! Despite the long break, the congenial duo Silenius and Protector did not stray an inch from their patch. Their distinctive melodies are the heart of all the songs on the latest longplayer, and bring the listeners directly into the fantastic world of Middle-Earth. This becomes evident in e.g. "Caradhras", where already the first notes let the mighty and ice-clad mountain appear in the mist, whereas "Flammifer" summons the spirit of EƤrendil. The majestic and diverse hymns are a monument of epic proportions and are beyond comparison in each and every second. SUMMONING’s Epic Black Metal is the perfect soundtrack for a world filled with legendary characters, massive strongholds and breathtaking landscapes. "Old Mornings Dawn" marks the glorious return of a band, who has already become a legend in its own right.

A very ominous organ and choir starts off the long tracks, called “Evernight.” I liked the drumming and flute, I think it was a flute, half way through, as it made me hope for a folk epic album. The second track, “Flammifer,” had a groovy beginning and made me feel like I was in a rainforest. It seems as if these guys are a mix of folk and black metal which is a combination of two of my favourite genres. The band blends dark riffs and vocals with a very relaxing folk style which sounds incredible. An epic medieval keyboard intro to kick off the title track, “Old Mornings Dawn.” Bringing in a drum beat and what sounds like horns, this track really gets me excited for the highland games and Medieval Times this summer and this has to be my favourite track on this album.

The drums so far on this album are so groovy and give these guys such a unique sound and “The White Tower” is no different. The keyboard also keeps it folk like, while the guitars and vocal usually leave you feeling grim. It’s a slower chilled out track but they bring so much epicness you can’t help but not care about the speed of the track. The beginning of “Caradhras” was awesome. When the vocals come in I cannot help but hear Maniac, former vocalist of Mayhem, which gives me chills. The folk bit in the middle is nice sounding, they do a great job of helping you imagine being in the medieval time period. The haunting backing vocals here and there really made my skin tingle on “Of Pale White Morn.” This track made me feel as if I want on the battlefield slaying wild men trying to take over my King’s castle. I may have been watching too much Game of Thrones. “The Wandering Fire,” the next track clearly the soundtrack of previously mentioned battle. It’s a mellow track, and the keyboards provide a lovely folk feel. The intro led well into the guitars and drums on “Earthshine.” The keyboards in between the heavy verses are great giving a good blend, making it a nice album concluding track.

“Old Mornings Dawn” by Summoning pulls you into the medieval era and gives you the perfect soundtrack With folk parts that make you want to eat meat without utensils and bed many fair maidens, to darker black metal parts which make you want to wear armour and a sword at pillage lands, this album provides a unique experience. Whether you like folk or black metal you should pick this up!

No comments:

Post a Comment