Monday, March 12, 2012

Guest review of Torture by Cannibal Corpse written by The Left Hand Creation bassist Rob Holden

I would just like to take the time to introduce a guest reviewer that is helping me out by bringing you a more in depth look at some of the albums I will be reviewing. Rob Holden is the bassist of Oshawa, Ontario based metal band Left Hand Creation. They combine all types of metal and make it their own with brutal riffs and gut wrenching vocals. You can like their page here and you should show some support for local bands!

1. Demented Aggression
2. Sarcophagic Frenzy
3. Scourge of Iron
4. Encased in Concrete
5. As Deep As the Knife Will Go
6. Intestinal Crank
7. Followed Home Then Killed
8. The Strangulation Chair
9. Caged...Contorted
10. Crucifier Avenged
11. Rabid
12. Torn Through

Torture is Cannibal Corpse’s twelfth studio album, and third with their current and final line-up. Since Cannibal needs no introduction, and no jawing-on about their history, please allow me to get started on the album

                                                            HOLY FUCK!!!!

The first song Demented Aggression may be familiar to some, as CC has released this song more than a month prior to the release of the album. The opening track is similar to the pounding speed and precision of the album Gore Obsessed. Full blown pedal to the metal from start to finish. The next track Sarcophagic Frenzy is only slightly calmer, to allow all the evident rhythm section work to shine through. The third track Scourge of Iron is my favorite off of the album, beginning with 4 measures of a teasing speed riff that edges off into the slowest chug in Cannibal Corpse history, battling and taking over the heaviness of even Death Walking Terror off of Kill. Sadly, this is the only song on the album where George Fisher regains some of his old power with his vocals. Encased In Concrete is suitably contradictory to the previous track, bringing the atmosphere of the album right back to its familiar crush-pound-kill feeling of songwriting.  From this track on, Alex Webster’s bass guitar is the most prominent instrument of the album, and it is welcomed with open arms. As Deep As The Knife Will Go is another groove-oriented headbanger, with very prominent guitar work. Intestinal Crank is my second favorite off the album, with each element of CC being pushed forward and effortlessly trumping all technical-proficiency of any of their previous works. The riffs in this song are just downright confusing, and only able to be written by Alex Webster and Pat O’Brien, the masters of Technical Death Metal.

The Next 6 tracks of the album are all just as strong and memorable as the first 6, each with certain parts that are familiar to Cannibal fans from the early 90’s, as well as many riffs completely alien to the CC albums of old, and mark a steady progression in their songwriting. The Strangulation Chair and Rabid are sure to have people all over the world picking up a bass guitar and trying to re-create the finger melting riffs of Alex Webster. Caged…Contorted and Crucifier Avenged are beyond heavy and are sure to throw out even the strongest of your neck muscles, the rhythm section of this entire album is just mindblowing.

After twelve studio albums, and being famous for song titles and lyrics that could make even Charles Manson cringe, Cannibal Corpse has FINALLY put out some song titles that play on some of my worst fears, and even I can’t help but feel disgusted…In a good way! Titles like Encased In Concrete and Caged…Contorted made me feel ill just thinking about it, and I had to restart the song several times just to give it my full attention, and Inestinal Crank shut down my brain all together for a good 5 minutes.

As a reviewer, I know that it is extreme faux-pas to rate an album 10 out of 10, but I can’t find any negatives of this album! I find the album artwork disappointing, due to my high expectations from previous works of the Chris Barnes era of Cannibal Corpse, it just seems so boring to me, as this is the only band that I have ever been excited about seeing their upcoming artwork. Also I find George Fisher’s vocals were better than the predecessor Evisceration Plague, but nowhere near the quality of vocals on albums such as Kill or The Wretched Spawn.

Aside from that, this album is the one that I have been anticipating all year long, and it still greatly exceeded my expectations. As a big fan of Cannibal Corpse since Tomb Of The Mutilated, I believe that this album is there best work by far as a fan and as a musician, and I look forward to their next tour. The release date for Torture is March 13th, 2012. Buy it, Buy it, BUY IT!

No comments:

Post a Comment