Monday, March 12, 2012

Review of Torture by Cannibal Corpse

1. Demented Aggression
2. Sarcophagic Frenzy
3. Scourge of Iron
4. Encased in Concrete
5. As Deep As the Knife Will Go
6. Intestinal Crank
7. Followed Home Then Killed
8. The Strangulation Chair
9. Caged...Contorted
10. Crucifier Avenged
11. Rabid
12. Torn Through

“Returning with the ceaselessly hostile Torture, Cannibal Corpse prove that when it comes to combining unrestrained maliciousness, involving song writing and technical precision they still have no equal, once again fortifying their position at the forefront of death metal. The twelfth full-length of their inspiring twenty-four year career, the Floridian quintet have never sounded so vital, the album building upon the wealth of powerful, dark, and memorable songs comprising 2006's Kill and 2009's Evisceration Plague and pointedly upping the ante at every turn. While this marks the latest progression in the band's sound, Torture also witnesses a return to what drummer Paul Mazurkiewicz accurately terms "the frenzied attack of Butchered At Birth (1991) or Tomb Of The Mutilated (1992)", infusing the band's advanced musicianship with the raw savagery that haunted their earlier releases, and in the process conceiving the definitive Cannibal Corpse record.

In 2012, Cannibal Corpse have ensured that the twelve songs comprising Torture are the very best and therefore cohere to make the best possible album, though they are not content to rest upon their laurels and they are as hungry as ever to unleash their distinctive breed of aural horror upon heaving mosh pits. "I haven't been this excited about a release in a long time," enthuses Mazurkiewicz. "We worked so hard at it and we hope that the fans feel the same way we do. Being out there and getting to play these songs live will once again prove to people we're not going anywhere. We're not going through the motions, we're really trying to be the best band we can be, and we're just getting better.”

This album is the first time I have listened to Cannibal Corpse in quite some time. After hearing the first riff on the album, I knew I was going to enjoy it the whole way through, which I did. This album is unlike and other Cannibal Corpse album I have ever heard. It seems to me like their heaviest and most technical album yet and it was an incredible listen. The guitar was mind blowing with fast, technical riffs the whole way through. Some tracks had a slower pace to them and Scourge of Iron may be the slowest track by Cannibal Corpse yet, but it was still an awesome song. About half way through the album you notice the bass as Alex Webster slappadabass so heavily that he overtakes the whole band and there is also a small bass solo in The Strangulation Chair, but its just the same notes over and over. George Fisher continues to pump out gut wrenching vocals and proves his voice is still capable. The track names are brutal and disgustingly tasty such as Encased in Concrete, Intestinal Crank, and the already mentioned The Strangulation Chair. This album is unlike anything Cannibal Corpse has ever released and they kept as unique as possible. My favourite tracks are Demented Agression, Scourge of Iron, and Intestinal Crank. This is by far one of my favourite albums that Cannibal Corpse has ever released and you should definitely pick it up!

No comments:

Post a Comment