Friday, August 24, 2012

Review of "Results" by Murder Construct

You are seeing this because they are a gold level sponsor
Top 3 reasons why your band needs professional promo content vs amateur content
-Image: Your band will look professional and be taken seriously
-Show Opportunity: The chance to play bigger shows with bigger bands
-Exposure: Reaching new fans and building on the ones you have
The biggest names in metal have professional content. If your serious about your music career, Ax Media Studios will take you to the next level.
We offer a wide range of services from music videos, live concert, photography, studio recordings, playthroughs, cd and logo design and much more! Visit our site for more information on how we can take YOUR band to the next level!

Buy this album

1. Red All Over
2. Under the Weight of the Wood
3. No Questions, No Comment
4. Gold Digger
5. Compelled by Mediocrity
6. The Next Life
7. Dead Hope
8. Feign Ignorance
9. Mercy, Mercy
10. Malicious Guilt
11. Resultados

In all honesty, not knowing what to expect from the opening track, “Red All Over,” the intro gave me that not another hardcore band. Its ringing feedback guitar and slow drumming is something I don’t like. Then out of nowhere brutality hits you, as well as a very familiar vocalist, Travis Ryan, this sounds like Cattle Decapitation if they stuck to full on grindcore. Flowing right off the first track is “Under the Weight of the Wood.”  The songs switch with no warning, fade, or cut which made me check my iTunes just to see why the song sounded so different all of a sudden. The guitar on this one is very nice and some parts feel a little black metal like.

This album has proven there is no time to catch breath as one song melds right into the next and it continues with “No Questions, No Comment.” The drumming stands out more in this song and I think there was a guitar solo but you can’t  hear it over the rest of the brutality but you can the second time around though. The technical riffs and spastic drumming is a little hard to follow in the next track “Gold Digger.” Travis Ryan’s vocals on this track are very well done and almost showcase his vocal range better than Cattle Decapitation did on the “Monolith of Inhumanity” album.

“Compelled by Mediocrity” opens up with a fantastic companionship between the drums and guitar. I also liked the riff half way through the song, it has a nice groove to it. There is a nice slam style riff in the next song “The Next Life.” Some parts in this song are hard to follow because its simply all over the place but it keeps you on your toes, or wheels in my case. The blackened death riff half way through this song was really nice, it felt like Behemoth. Brutal all the way through next is “Dead Hope,” but that’s not different from the rest of the album, its just so short I can’t really say much about it.

The beginning guitar riff in “Feign Ignorance” was nice with the whammy on the end of it. Travis Ryan’s vocals on this track are some of the best on the album. There is a small pause in this song that totally breaks the brutal the whole way through compliment, but a tiny break is no big deal. The next two songs are short so a big thought on them is hard to really come up with. Both “Mercy, Mercy” and “Malicious Guilt” had great guitar and drumming in them. Ending the album, at a monstrous six minutes in length, we have “Resultados.” I was getting so used to the short songs I was wondering if it was over at one and a half minutes. This track is nicely paced and actually has slower parts. I liked the melodic bit, its not an actual melodic riff but it still has the feel. The guitar and piano that plays this album out is especially eerie.

This album is a must buy for those who like Cattle Decapitation and also for those who enjoy grindcore and death metal. After hearing this along as “Monolith of Inhumanity,” I think I can say Travis Ryan is one my favourite vocalist. I definitely recommend this album.

No comments:

Post a Comment