Monday, October 22, 2012

Review of "Evangelivm Nekromantia" by Antropomorphia

Buy this album

1. Intro
2. Nekrophilian Mass
3. The Mourned and the Macabre
4. Debauchery in Putrefaction
5. Anointment By Sin
6. Fleisch
7. Impure Desecration
8. Psuchagogia
9. Nekrosophia
10. Evangelivm Nekromantia

AntropomorphiAoriginally formed under the name 'Dethroned Empire' in 1989 by F = Ferry Damen [Vocals/guitar], M = Marco Stubbe [Drums] and former member Vincent van Boxtel [guitar].This first year as 'Dethroned Empire' they recorded several rehearsal demos. In those days under the influence from bands such as Hellhammer/Celtic Frost, Infernäl Mäjesty and Bathory.

Between 1990 and 1993 the musical direction transformed into death metal. Subsequently their name changed to AntropomorphiA. At the same time they were joined by S = Marc van Stiphout [Bass] to complete the line-up. The next year and a half they concentrated on writing songs and developing their own style.

This culminated into the band's first official demo 'Bowel Mutilation', recorded at RS29 and produced by Oscar Holleman, this beast was released into the world early 1992. Immediately after the release of 'Bowel Mutilation' a record deal was offered by Swiss label Blackened Recordings. The band recorded their first MCD and in the second half of 1993 the cult classic 'Necromantic Love Songs' MCD finally rose from the grave.

After several live shows and a busy 1994 the band is back in the studio recording new material. The 1995 'I have my Way' demo got great reviews but didn't lead to a new deal. Within these years of turmoil AntropomorphiA released several recordings while band members got involved in other projects which consumed most of their time.

In 1999 the band part ways with guitarist Vincent van Boxtel. The remaining members decided to put the band on indefinite hold. Although they kept on writing music and record tracks nothing significant resulted from it.

Fast forward 2009 when other projects moved into the background, AntropomorphiA got re-activated. The line-up is still the same, original members, F (vox/guitar), M (drums), S (bass) form the trinity that is AntropomorphiA till this day.

In the course of 2010 an album is written and recorded but after finishing it the band decided to put this record on the shelve and start over from scratch. Early 2011 AntropomorphiA made their first live appearance since 2001 at Neurotic Deathfest where they put up a convincing brutal show.

While still working on a new album the band  released 'Necromantic Love Songs' combined with their first demo 'Bowel Mutilation for the first time ever on vinyl as a double LP through well respected underground label The Crypt.

At the end of 2011 most of the new album is recorded and the band is taking their time to make sure this album is something more resulting in Evangelivm Nekromantia - an album consisting of 9 tracks, divided into three chapters of each three songs. Lyrically driven by nekrophilae, murder, necromancy and necrolesbian lust. Mastered at Necromorbus Studios by Tore Stjerna.

"We've been working on this conception for almost a year. Dedicated to composing a new sort of disturbing death metal darkness which exceeds most of the one-dimensional releases that you hear most of these days!"

The album intro is very gloomy with its keyboard and ambient guitar, as well as very dark sounding growl vocals. The end guitar ringing out of the intro flows nicely into the first track “Nekrophilian Mass,” bringing you evil riffs and sludgy chugs. There is a great mix of eerie black metal styling as well as melodic and technical death metal bits. The fast paced riffs and blast beats are enjoyable as well. The drumming and guitars on “The Mourned and the Macabre” are really catchy. I really like the way the riffs are laid out on this track, with very groovy bits and heavier dirty parts. The melodic bits and vocals kind of reminds me of Amon Amarth.

“Debauchery in Putrefaction” is a slower track, but stayed equally as heavy throughout. The melodic riff along with the blast beat was awesome and the lead guitar bit after was great. The slower melodic riffs in “Anointment By Sin” are catchy. The faster melodic parts are nice as well but it really doesn’t give me the black metal feel I was hoping from a band like this. The vocals and backing vocals half way through, makes up for that however, along with the riffs as well. “Fleisch” is a shorter track and has a very in your face feel with fast pace bits as well as groovy and chuggy breaks. The mix between melodic death and black metal styles are infused nicely on “Impure Desecration.” The screams are very painful sounding with the accompanying slow menacing guitar, which sounds amazing. This is a very dark track and is probably my favourite on this album.

A very awesome bass riff opens up the next track, “Psuchagogia,” which goes straight into the fast paced melodic death feel. Half way through you are greeted with a grim guitar riff and accompanied bass. When the band collects together, the guitars feel very doom like but the bassist is very much so diddling his bass which is great sounding. “Nekrosophia,” really gave me a Cannibal Corpse vibe. It is a very straight forward track and is more on the brutal side. Ending this album off is the title track “Evangelivm Nekromantia” with a very awesome mellow riff and ambient rain and thunder to start. Half way through it changes its flow which is awesome. This is a great instrumental to end the album.

This was a very interesting album as it pulled influences across many styles. From black, melodic and technical death, as well as doom, Antropomorphia knows how to stay fresh. They are a great listen to if you like all of those styles and sure surprised me!

No comments:

Post a Comment