Thursday, November 1, 2012

Review of "In Love & Silent Screams" by Luna Reign

Buy this album

1. Blood
2. Snow Blinded
3. Broken
4. Luna Eclipse II
5. Save You?
6. In Love And Silent Screams
7. As The World Falls
8. The Key
9. Kiss The Sky
10. Fallen Empire

Luna Reign (rock/metal) music is a powerful and electrified journey through creation and destruction. Powerful, sensual and seductive as black silk brushed along bare skin. Romantic and soothing, yet aggressive and abrasive. Luna Reign is a UK based Rock/Metal solo artist with a twist of gothic style romance, which was brought to life in full form in 2010.

This album starts off with the track “Blood,” with a really old style gothic rock feeling coming from the guitar. The vocals puts you more into the sense of 80s rock. Although the drums are simplistic they still sound catchy. This track really throws you into the nostalgic feel of how rock used to sound and the keyboard and lead parts are really awesome the way they are laid out. The ambient keyboard at the end of the track prior flows nicely into the next track, “Snow Blinded.” It has a very grim but gothic rock feeling riff to start off and the synth really does add to the feel, while it accompanies the riff. This is a really chilling track the way the lyrics go and the vocals bring the words out. The guitars, around four minutes in, with the ambience was really awesome as well.

“Broken” has a faster styling of the olden rock era of guitar. I enjoyed the break from the guitar into keyboard about the three minutes. With the bass kick build up to bring the band back it sounded really badass. Bringing a really mellow feel is the next track, “Luna Eclipse II,” with the chilled out guitar and very soft spoken vocals. When the guitar and keyboard come in it gets really epic. This was a very well done gothic rock ballad and the vocals really get the spotlight as they are very perfect and amazing for the style. The organ affect on the keys of “Save You?” are really tone setting, as well as the ambience. The strumming of the guitar makes it a really laid back track. This track is really mellow but for the genre that’s definitely fine. It is a very trance inducing track and you can’t help but feel as if you’re going to get bit by a vampire and be okay with it.

The mix between the low ambience and higher keys made for a chilling sound in the next track, “In Love And Silent Screams,” and the guitar chugs sound good. Having two toned vocals was really dark sounding as well and makes it more enjoyable. Mellow guitar and vocals start off “As The World Falls,” but builds up as the drums comes in and it gets a little which sounds nice. It is a really catchy track the way it flows, with relaxing breaks and a heavy chorus. “The Key” brings really groovy rock feeling guitar riffs and the vocals are great on this track as per usual. They felt a little more chilling, but it may have just been how the keyboard flowed with it though.

The next track, “Kiss The Sky,” is very dark feeling the way the ambient keyboard and guitar flowed. Some of the riffs were a little grim feeling which is awesome. It is mostly a mellow track but it still has a very chilling feel to it, especially the ending of it with the ambience and whispers. “Fallen Empire” was probably the best way to end the album, with its short and heavy feel. The guitars are catchy and the vocals are as well the way they flowed, although it is a short track it is a great track.

This album is really well done and the fact that this is a one man band makes it even more of a masterpiece. I don’t think I have ever listened to anything quite like it. The whole album feels like it belongs in movies like Labrynth, Never Ending Story, and even Donnie Darko in some scenes. The ambient keyboard and guitars are very old school gothic rock and the vocals are really great with the soft spoken but chilling coherent singing. I recommend picking this up as it isn’t too heavy and is something everyone will be able to enjoy, especially at a pay what you want price.

No comments:

Post a Comment